sosn logo

The Southern Ontario Seismic Network (SOSN) is part of the POLARIS Network (Portable Observatories for Lithospheric Analysis Research Investigating Seismicity). The SOSN is operated by the University of Western Ontario (Department of Earth Sciences) for Ontario Power Generation and Bruce Power. It is also associated with The Canadian National Seismograph Network operated by the Geological Survey of Canada (GSC). It has been in operation since 1991 with the purpose of obtaining information on the seismicity and seismic hazards of a region of southern Ontario in which a number of nuclear power facilities are located.

In 2012 this network consists of 25 broad-band three component seismic stations shown on the station map.

station map

Although this region is not as seismically active as other areas of eastern Canada such as the St Lawrence Valley, it still experiences numerous small earthquakes such as those in Lake Ontario, Lake Erie and Georgian Bay as shown in the seismicity map below.

seismicity map

bullet Local Seismic Activity

bullet More Information About the SOSN

[Network Installation and Modifications] [Stations] [Publications] [Other References] [Papers Presented] [Links] [People]

All inquires, comments, and suggestions can be directed to:

Karen Assatourians <kassatou at>
Bernie Dunn <bdunn at>

Thu Mar 12 14:25:02 EDT 2020